"Top50vpn" is a completely independent project that is fully free to use. To keep the unbiased site running & fighting the online privacy battle, please support us by donating. It would be highly appreciated!

Our Score 7.3

While free VPNs are too far in between, it doesn’t always mean that the ones that do exist are necessarily worth paying attention to. In this Opera VPN review, we’ll talk about a browser-dependent free VPN (not really) provider that, while having some cool features, still lacks in many different departments.

If you're searching for a VPN that wouldn't lack in any way, shape or form, I'd suggest looking at ExpressVPN and CyberGhost.

TL;DR: The cool thing about the Opera VPN is that it’s free and it supports Netflix. Despite that, however, there are some serious issues that this VPN provider needs to sort out in order to raise its reputation in the grand scheme of things. That said, one should take into account that the Opera VPN isn’t an ACTUAL VPN - this might make things a bit more lenient.

Pros

  • Supports Netflix
  • (Almost) no logging
  • Free

Cons

  • No torrenting support
  • No customer support
  • Browser-exclusive

Before We Start the Opera VPN Review, a Short Disclaimer - It’s Not Really a VPN

Before we actually get into the Opera VPN review, it is important that you understand one single thing - the Opera VPN isn’t an actual VPN. Confused? Let me explain.

The Opera VPN is something that is known as a proxy. While the expression “VPN” is used here as an umbrella term, it does not reflect the true nature of the Opera VPN.

Since this is an Opera VPN review, the question that is probably on your mind right about now sounds something like this - what’s the difference?

Well, to start off, the main difference lies within the topic of security. You see, VPNs encrypt both your data and your connection itself. Proxies, however, are only responsible for hiding your IP address. This makes them EXTREMELY UNSAFE and liable to break-ins, dataflow interceptions, and so on.

An important note to mention for all of those wondering is Opera VPN safe is that the proxy does have its own form of data encryption - the HTTP/SSL protocol. That said, the protocol does not encrypt your connection itself - it just focuses on the browser.

OperaVPN review: front page.

For clearance sake, and to keep things as simple as possible, in the rest of this Opera VPN review I shall be referring to the proxy as a “VPN”, for it is the most common and well-known tag that people call and associate it with.

Opera VPN: PROS

To start off, let’s talk about just how good is Opera VPN. While lacking a lot of the core components of a VPN, Opera can still provide some specific features for the average user (especially seeing that it is free).

Supports Netflix

You could go as far as to say that Netflix is almost without a doubt the main reason why people use the Opera VPN.

By now, it is almost common knowledge that Netflix has been cracking down on VPN users worldwide. Whatever the motivations might be, the results are rather obvious - more and more VPNs every single day declare that they no longer support the usage of Netflix.

The Opera VPN stands out of the crowd, though.

The VPN offers three servers, and all of them unlock Netflix USA and all of its region-locked content to the rest of the world. That’s a pretty big deal!

The above is especially true when you think about just how many VPNs no longer support Netflix. Coming across a proxy (not even a fully-fledged VPN!) that unlocks Netflix does feel awesome, especially when it’s completely free and integrated into your browser!

So, the next time you ask “does Opera VPN work with Netflix?”, you’ll know the answer.

Latest NordVPN Coupon Found:

No Information Logging (Kind Of)

If you’re unaware, data logging is a very serious issue that has been plaguing the VPN world. It is also one of the main reasons why people ask is Opera VPN safe to use.

Data logging happens when a VPN provider has malicious intents and tracks your movements and personal information while you’re using the VPN. Later, the information is sold off to interested third parties. Quite frankly, it completely beats the entire purpose of owning a VPN.

OperaVPN review: features.

As some Opera VPN reviews have pointed out, though, Opera does not track or log your data. The company is rather transparent with its information tracking practices - they admit that they take note of some information, but only the one that’s necessary for the development of their own products.

Be it as it may, if you’re still wondering is Opera VPN safe, you should keep one thing in mind - you would never want to use the VPN for activities that would require the highest level of protection.

It’s not the biggest deal in the world if you only want to watch Netflix, but if there’s a need for more serious anonymity, then a proxy simply won’t cut it.

Compare OperaVPN Side by Side With Others

Did you know?

Compare OperaVPN Side by Side With Others

All VPNs may look similar to you but they're NOT all the same!

Yes! Show me the Comparison Chart

Easy to Use and Doesn’t Push Ads

Reading through other Opera VPN reviews, I’ve noticed that some people go as far with their skepticism as to wonder does Opera VPN work at all. And, just to be clear - it does!

The VPN actually even has a pretty simple and straightforward installation.

OperaVPN review: settings.

All that you’d have to do is go to the “Settings” tab in the Opera browser, navigate to the “Privacy and Security” tab and enable the VPN. That’s it!

Using the VPN is actually pretty straightforward, too. You can jump between servers rather easily - all that you need to do is navigate to the top of your search bar (where the “VPN” button is, on the top-left corner) and press the button for a drop-down menu for all of the options available.

Another great thing worth mentioning in this Opera VPN review is that it doesn’t shove your screen with ads. Why is this so noteworthy?

Because Opera VPN is free. And free VPNs tend to do that.

It’s actually one of the main reasons why people tend to not trust free VPN providers (other than the fact that they don’t really have a good reputation).

If you’re constantly bombarded with various advertisements of how you should purchase “the amazing, premium paid version” of the VPN, the experience of using one becomes rather tedious.

Opera VPN: CONS

Now, to continue with our Opera VPN review, let’s take a look at the cons that this VPN has. And, well… There are quite a few.

Do keep in mind, however, the thing that we discussed at the beginning of this Opera VPN review - the Opera VPN is a proxy, and not an actual VPN per se.

Browser-Exclusive (No Stand-Alone Version)

This might perfectly well be the deciding factor for the majority of people when it comes to the topic of how good is Opera VPN.

The VPN is purely browser-dependant.

OperaVPN review: enabling Opera VPN.

Doing some digging, I’ve learned that the Opera VPN used to have a stable, mobile version of the VPNApparently, back then it was a fully-fledged VPN, too!

Today, however, the remnants of that VPN are only available if you’re using the Opera web browser. This can be a real deal-breaker.

Admittedly, only a very select group of people use Opera - there are many better alternatives to be found! And to use a web browser solemnly for a VPN, well… Let’s just say that not many people would be up to the idea, even if we're talking about a free VPN.

If this VPN provider doesn’t quite cut it for you, don’t worry - there are better alternatives out there. You can always check out ExpressVPN or CyberGhost - they’re some of the most popular VPN providers in the current market, and rightfully so.

Super-Slow Speeds

Some Opera VPN reviews mention that the VPN offers slow speeds (download and upload), but few of them stress just how slow those speeds actually are.

Once I’ve noticed that my browsing experience was a bit laggy and the videos weren’t really rendering properly, I decided to run a speed test. And, well… The results speak for themselves.

The Opera VPN offers a download speed of around 8 Mbps. The test was done from the EU, and the server that was tested is EU-based, too.

Just to help you understand how slow this download speed actually is, the average speed without a VPN would be around 70 Mbps. Ya, it’s that bad.

On one hand, it would be rather tough to expect great speeds from a free, browser-exclusive VPN - you get what you “paid” for. On the other hand, however, it becomes difficult to answer the question “does Opera VPN work properly?” on a positive note.

No Torrents Allowed

Yet another deal-breaker for a whole lot of people, the Opera VPN does not support P2P file sharing (aka torrenting).

It is probably of no secret that a decreasing number of VPNs these days allow torrenting. With a ton of copyright lawsuits being thrown around, it's becoming increasingly riskier to openly support torrents. The (quote, unquote) “legal” term that most VPNs use is P2P (Peer-to-Peer) file sharing.

That said, torrenting is still one of the main selling points for many VPN providers out there. However, in order to be successful, simply allowing torrents doesn’t quite cut it.

The VPN must also ensure that there are dedicated servers that are there mainly to be used for P2P purposes - they should have high-level encryptions and be as secure as possible.

On the topic of the Opera VPN, though, it has neither. It doesn’t support torrenting, but even if it would, you probably wouldn’t be too keen on doing it with Opera - Opera VPN being a proxy, it has no proper security measure in place.

No Customer Service

Like, literally… None.

Either you’re trying to find out how good is Opera VPN, or you have some questions about the VPN’s logging policy or Netflix support, it’s always important to be able to have your questions answered. Well, this isn’t a likely scenario with this VPN.

Opera VPN review: a man answering customer support inquiries.

The only help that you’ll get is the self-explanatory button on their official site - “Go to Help”. That’s literally it - no live chat, not even a ticketing system!

Surely, one wouldn’t expect any more from a free VPN provider, but you are then left to search for various Opera VPN reviews online in order to find some REAL help.

Limited Amount of Things That You Can Do

Opera VPN offers only three servers - one in the EU, one in the US and one in Asia.

Needless to say, that’s underwhelming.

To add to that, you never really know where the actual servers are located. Even for a free VPN, the lack of information is bothersome.

With such a limited amount of possibilities, there really aren’t many things that you can do. Furthermore, keeping in mind the lack of security that Opera VPN offers, the number of activities one would be willing to engage in drops down even further.

Truthfully, it would seem that the only “proper” feature that’s available with the Opera VPN is watching Netflix’s restricted content. That’s literally it - any other activity that requires some form for privacy or anonymity is out of the question!

On their official site, the Opera VPN list two main “appeals” for their VPN - reducing online tracking and keeping your public browsing secure. Both are lackluster, to say the very least.

To put it simply, the Opera VPN can claim any and all security measures that they want - the proxy “VPN” simply has too many security loopholes for them to be ignored.

Here is The Best NordVPN Offer I Found:

Would I recommend using Opera VPN?

No.

As you might have gathered up until this point in the Opera VPN review, the service has a whole lot of flaws - too many and too serious for it to be a viable VPN service. And that’s exactly it - it’s not a VPN, in the first place!

Even proxy-wise, Netflix does seem to be the only (quote, unquote) “popularfeature that it offers. A huge lack of security and data encryption, no information whatsoever, no customer support, only three servers to choose from… I could go on, but you get the idea.

Some Opera VPN reviews try to play off the fact that it’s free, but even that doesn’t offer any condolences! It might in a different scenario, but since the Opera VPN is browser-exclusive, it being free doesn’t really mean all that much.

Overall, as sad as it is to say this, the Opera VPN definitely did not impress. If security is what you’re looking for, I’d stay away from Opera as far as I could.

Since this VPN lacks not only security but also other important features, why don’t you choose the VPN provider, which has it all? Take a look into ExpressVPN and CyberGhost. They’re not only fast and secure, but also allow have great customer support.

Leave your honest OperaVPN review

By leaving your honest opinion you can help thousands of readers to choose the best VPN. We accept genuine & helpful user reviews, either positive or negative. Have in mind that biased reviews will not be published. If you want to share your opinion, experience or advice, we want you to spill the beans!


TOP3 Most Popular Coupon Codes

Verified

GET 68% OFF

NordVPN Black Friday Sale
Rating
5.0
Verified

84% OFF

Surfshark Black Friday Sale
Rating
5.0
Verified

Get 49% OFF

Express VPN Black Friday Offer
Rating
5.0

Recent OperaVPN User Reviews

5.0/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Gets me the work done

definitely love Opera, the free VPN of my dreams you stream unlimitely! I use it to watch Asian content all the time.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
4.1/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

- the best vpn for sure -

for a free vpn this is impresive, the speed is good and no hassle with payments and stuff, just dowload and start streaming!!!

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
4.5/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

PERFECT

THIS BROWSER ROCKS, I LOVE HOW EASY IS TO USE (TURN OFF AND ON) DEFINITELY WILL RECOMMEND TO TRY IT FI U LOOK FOR A CHEAP VPN.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
5.0/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Basic

ummm there's not much this offers, like i dunno if im safe or something i just care netflix works and of course it does! :D

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
4.2/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

New browser

Bye chrome hello Opera ;) this service is amazing, free, fast and perfect to stream geoblocked videos online! Highly reccommend.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
4.3/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

a VPN?? mmm

I dunno why it is featured as VPN, let's call it a modern browser or something. It get all the work done hiding my IP with no problem and then I can get back to my IP if I wanna. 5/5 Stars,

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
4.2/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Easy

Nothing is better than free stuff. OperaVPN is 100% functional protects my privacy online, fast speed and easy to use. The easiest vpn probably.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
4.5/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

NOT THE SAFEST

ITS BEST FEATURE IS NETFLIX. KUDOS OPERA! IT GETS IT RIGHT, I WOULDNT CALL IT COMPLETE VPN BECAUSE IT PROTECTS BUT THERES NO ADVANCED SECURITY PROTOCOL.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
5.0/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

VPN integrated

My browser works for sure, it activates the VPN very easily but what I like the most is that it doesn't cost a dollar more.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
5.0/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Great service!

Opera has been my favorite tool now that I moved to Chile, I can watch Netflix and blocked websites. I would recommend it.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.8/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Shady security

Use it at your own risk! It's free and a lot of good things can be said about it, like it's super easy to set up. However, there are no real security protocols or privacy policy. Not sure if I would recommend Opera...

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
4.0/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

old version better

I loved it 1 year ago, now, I'm not sure honestly. P2P sharing was fast! But lately is going a bit slow, it even takes time to charge websites, hope it goes back to good!

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
5.0/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Fun quarantine

Makes me feel even guilty. I'm watching my shows for free on quarantine, all Netflix, all the time, for a free browser. Opera is the best for sure!

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
4.6/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Good

I was amazed when I saw that yeah, can hide IP, connect to different servers. I'm overall happy, only downside... slow speeds maybe.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.7/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Easy & Free

Little did I know a browser can be my adblocker, vpn all at once! I stream CBS and Netflix US with no problem, great quality and no disconnections. But I'm still concerned my data could be leaked

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
5.0/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Amazing

Netflix, free, could it get any better? I installed Opera on my phone and it's amazing! Complete satisfaction even when sometimes it doesnt connect, it works again!

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.9/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Lacks Features

It's the most stable VPN, maybe 'cuz it's my browser, dunno. I don't see no speed reduction. The interface is clean, very intuitine, since there's no much.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
5.0/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Can't live without it!

Long user of ExpressVPN ended up changing to Opera because it gets the word done for no money, it's completely free! no credit card bulls&$& anything. It works great, sometimes a bit slow but just sometimes.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
5.0/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Best VPN

I use it because I torrent all the time, it's fast, the p2p speeds are impresive. It may be the best free vpn !

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
4.0/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Worth trying !

It's on the tip of my tongue ¨best vpn¨ but I know it's not really, I'm gonna say its VPN does work, not bad but I don't feel too safe per say.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.5/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Users need answers to the VPN problem

Without usable VPN there is no reason to use it over any other browser and the company is not responding to their users with any guidance. Users need to know if there is a future in continuing to use this VPN

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.6/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

I only need it for this

I can't afford to pay for any thing currently. And I don't really need to secure anything but my browser ONLY. The only thing that I don't like is the slow speed and possibly the fact that they collect my data and giving me an option to stop it.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
5.0/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Really Great for ME

For this review, Opera is trash but seeing as the ONLY one that is built-in and absolutely free, is what I can say great. Also, I don't need ultimate protection for now. I can also log to sites which otherwise I can't.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.7/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Opera VPN is bad now.

Opera VPN used to be an amazing free service...could watch videos seamlessly with ease. But in the past 2 weeks, the VPN has become so slow that it's downright unusable. A pity, because the free VPN was the only reason to use Opera over Chrome!

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.6/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Location?

Opera doesn't seem to realize wrong location.There seems to be no way to make the change. Otherwise it is good.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.6/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Opera VPN gone downhill

Of late the connection keeps dropping and I have to switch in and off three or four times before it works.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.6/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

It's good.. For a few weeks

I was very happy with Opera VPN for several months, but since some weeks it doesn't function anymore as it was. The connection with the internet gets broken several times a day and it takes quite a while to get connected again. As well on a desktop as on a laptop. A pity, because it's a good program.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.5/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Think twice about getting Opera if you’re moving abroad

If you are planning on using this VPN service abroad ESPECIALLY in a country like China I’d highly recommend you look at different options. There are better VPN services like Astrill, as well as Chinese VPN services that are faster. Turning the VPN on works about 1/4 times. And even then it takes about a minute to connect. No one gonna happy with this!

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.8/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Unstable Connection

Connection is not stable and constantly drops out. Takes too much time to reconnect. Very frustrating. No customer support to help on this problem. That's a huge disappointed!

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.5/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

No support

No spy servers stopped working when they did the last update, tried to look for a help even on website, it's useless. i suggest looking elsewhere unless you are happy receiving no support.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
5.0/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Opera is the Best!

VPN very friendly feature, Opera is the best of both worlds, Firefox and Chrome...but much better! The browser looks lovely and fast, the pages loading as it should and rarely crash, this is on if the most important things why I always choose my favorite Opera! go for it, you will love it!

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.6/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Not a good experience overall

First, this feedback form came with no options to enter anything and suddenly it says thank you. Then, once in a while, i won't be able to unblock the connection, nor reconnect the vpn because the Opera app says : unable to connect.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.5/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

System never worked, installation said cracked version, internet not working.

I had the product less than 2 hours. Could not get it to work on 2 separate computers. Install failed, cracked version of product, no support... 3.5/5 due to free and good speed

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.6/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Not work in China

When it works it great but my experience from the 1 February when I arrived back in China, is that most of the time it doesn't work especially the UK servers which is particularly annoying. Feel like I'm paying for nothing - not sure I would recommend express in future for anyone travelling to china. Very disappointing Opera - need to get this fixed.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.6/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Keeps dropping out

Keeps dropping out cant get any internet access . No customer support at all. Not for the first time . If i could get in touch i would ask for a refund of my remaining sub

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.8/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Good deal, so give it a try.

This VPN would be a good deal if you are the lightest users and just want to have some protection online like me. It has stable connection and quite good speed, but sometimes Netflix not working even I tried to change the servers (since too little servers they supply) and no help from provider at all...

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.8/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

70% reliable

An OK service in general, but it needs too often too many tries to find a working server, sometimes it's slow then, 3.8 out of 5 because it's not getting better but slowly worse, last year it was usually faster/easier to connect. Could do better.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.7/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

What I like and I don't like

What I like is that is very good to use, safe to use too, and fast but its very confusing when it comes to choosing a server that is far or closer to me and no one there to help.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
5.0/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

Good for basic services.

I use VPN only to view content that is not available in my country. Torrenting is available from my country. So this is my first choice. It does not throttle your connection speed. Free to use, easy to setup

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.8/5.0 - OperaVPN User
2023-01-01

I have use it for just 1 week

I am new using this VPN but with time will understand how it works, what i understood for this short while is the Opera vpn is known as a proxy by most servers and my DNS is shown.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed

FAQ

What are 'browser-exclusive' VPNs?

Browser-exclusive VPNs are only available on a specific, designated internet browser - in this case, it would be Opera. You won't be able to find / use the VPN on other browsers - needles to say, this limits the tool by quite a bit. Proper, reliable and software- (app) based VPNs are always going to be a better alternative.

Is Opera VPN a good VPN tool?

Opera VPN is completely free to use, and unlocks Netflix USA content for international users - that's a pretty big deal for a free VPN! Still, however, it has a lot of issues and shortcomings - you're much better off using a high-end VPN.

Can I use VPN for torrenting?

Yes, it can. The most popular content platform for top VPNs to unblock is Netflix. Even though it’s available almost everywhere, USA users have a much bigger content variety. That’s why a lot of people use VPNs to view that kind of content via USA-located servers. If the content you want to view is geo-blocked, you can look up which servers (in which regions) the top VPN providers possess and which ones are right for you. You can easily find this information for each best VPN service in our VPN reviews.

What sets Top50vpn apart from other top VPN review sites?

We strive to be as reliable as possible & we are not competing with anyone. Top50vpn goal is to provide readers with the most insightful & helpful information. That’s why our VPN review process is more thorough than anyone else’s - we use a lot of different testing methods as well as the brainpower of true professionals. We do not take payments for writing reviews or changing them. Also, all the user reviews you see on the site are genuine, which may not be the case with other review sites. To put it simply, we take more time to test & review top rated VPNs - that’s why you get unique insights from us on a daily basis.

Can VPNs be used to unblock content?

Yes, you definitely can (and you should!). Best VPNs usually offer safe P2P file sharing option, which means that while torrenting, you are connected to Peer-to-Peer file sharing in order to download really fast. If the VPN doesn’t shy away from using torrents, it will secure your connection from other people using the same connection. If you want to find out which top VPNs allow torrenting, check our thorough VPN reviews.

How do you decide which provider offers the best VPN?

Deciding which provider has the top VPN is not an easy task, but it sure is fun! We have a dedicated team of professionals who test each VPN from start to finish, measuring all of the most important features. We buy all the VPNs ourselves, use machine learning & data science algorithms, get opinions from hundreds of real users, MIT professors, internet security experts and more. The top VPN services are decided by measuring all these important metrics, and never by the request of the providers.