"Top50vpn" is a completely independent project that is fully free to use. To keep the unbiased site running & fighting the online privacy battle, please support us by donating. It would be highly appreciated!

Our Score 7.1

Finding a good VPN provider is not as easy as it might seem in the first place. You have to pay attention to security protocols, leaks, speed, whether you can unblock Netflix content and use torrents, and so many other factors. 

The purpose of this Betternet review is to look into it from different perspectives, evaluate the major pros and cons, test its capabilities and answer the question: is Betternet a good VPN?

Without further ado, let's jump straight into it. 

Verdict at a glance

Betternet is a totally free (unless you decide to try the premium version) VPN service provider. It has a zero-logging policy and an easy-to-use app. On the other hand, Betternet does not allow Netflix and is too slow for torrenting, it was tested positive for leaks and contains ads in the free version.

Dan Fusco

Cyber Security Speaker, Owner of InnerPC

What to do if your identity got exposed online?

This can be very complicated. First, try to find out how your identity was compromised, you might need to hire a Cyber Forensics company to do this. You will also want to notify the FBI and tell them exactly what happened.

Pros

  • Capable Encryption
  • No-Logs Policy
  • Live Customer Support for Paid Plan
  • Easy- to-Use App

Cons

  • Slow
  • No Netflix and Not Fast Enough for Torrents
  • IP and DNS Leaks Detected
  • Premium Plan is Too Expensive

What is Betternet? Is it Actually Free? Why?

Betternet is a Canadian VPN, which claims to have more than 38 million users, of which 60% are outside the U.S. It was created around 2015, so it’s still quite new. What is more, they claim to have over 1 Petabyte of daily traffic, which is almost the same as watching 500,000 UltraHD movies per day.

Betternet review: VPN for Windows.

Every Betternet review should mention that it’s completely free! Yes, you heard me correctly, Betternet is entirely out of charge.

With zero payment, you can use their iOS, Android, Windows, Mac apps, plus Chrome and Firefox extensions. What is more, the exceptional part is that it does not require your email or name when registering. So, if you want to stay completely anonymous, it’s an option.

Without stalling, I can say that there are a couple of drawbacks. If you want to add extra features and get rid of the ads, you have to get a premium plan, which is, obviously, no longer free.

The thing is, in 2015, when it first came out, Betternet didn’t have paid subscription, but in late 2017, when everything was getting more expensive, they decided to release the premium version.

With a paid plan, you can connect to 11 servers in 10 countries that is very limited, to say the least. What is more, if you use the free version, you don’t get an ability to choose a server, Betternet does it for you.

Betternet review: no registration needed.

However, everything depends on your needs, if you’re a light user, the free version should be enough for you. Thus, I would recommend trying it out and see how it works for yourself. 

The main question is, is Betternet a good VPN?

I’d say it depends on what you’re looking for but I’ll answer that question at the end of this Betternet review. Let’s move to the pros and see what Betternet’s free alternative has to offer.

Pros

There aren't that many positive aspects when it comes to Betternet. If you're looking for the most capable VPN providers, you should take a look at the list of the best ones. 

Capable Privacy and Security Options

Is Betternet safe?

It’s one of the most commonly asked questions. To find out, let’s take a look into Betternet’s privacy and security options.

Betternet offers OpenVPN with AES- 256 encryption and 128-bit AES-CBC for IPSec.

BETTERNET

Data Logging

IP Leaks

DNS Leaks

WebRTC Leaks

Jurisdiction

Canada

Five/Nine/Fourteen Eyes

Five

Strongest Encryption

AES-256

Kill Switch

Anonymous Payment Support

1

P2P File Sharing

See TOP10 Brands
Read review

Table: Betternet security.

This information (look below) was posted on their main page on July 23rd, 2015. It’s strange that it hasn’t been updated, but maybe nothing changed?

Let me briefly introduce you to the security options that Betternet offers.

  • OpenVPN - the most secure VPN protocol in the market, so it’s definitely safe to use
  • AES-256 encryption - military-grade encryption with a 256-bit key, it’s the most popular, not (yet) breakable encryption.
  • 128-bit AES-CBC for IPSec 

However, it does not say when the 128-bit and when 256-bit key is being used - that should be clarified.

Therefore, even though most of the VPNs are now are using AES-256 encryption, this always important to mention.

No-Logging Policy

For me, no-logging policy always comes after security, for that reason, I put it right after the safety in this Betternet review.

The thing is, even if VPNs are highly secure and protect you from third-eyes, how can you know if the company doesn’t collect data about you? You would be surprised how often it happens. The most important data is the one that can identify you as a person. Hence, you should always find out if it’s not the case with a VPN provider that you consider buying.

I’d say Betternet zero logs policy is quite straightforward, which I really like. If you take some time, you can find their privacy overview.

Betternet review: Betternet privacy settings.


Therefore, your IP address will never be identified, and no logs of your online activity will be kept.

The reason that you do not have to create an account to download their app is really reassuring since you won’t have to fill in any data related to your identity. Thus, from where I’m standing, I think no logs policy is Betternet’s strongest asset. However, I’ll still check if there are no leaks further in this Betternet review.

Latest NordVPN Coupon Found:

Customer Support

Even though you can only get live chat if you're a premium, it’s still good to know that Betternet suggests such a possibility. However, If you don’t feel like paying and enjoy the free version, then there’s always FAQs where you might find a solution to your problem. Why do I say might? There simply aren’t enough subjects.

Here are examples of the questions that Windows users ask:

Betternet review: Betternet customer support.

Therefore, you can find only basic questions related to connection, installation, and accounts, but that's something.

Cons

As I decided to write the Betternet review, I never thought that it would have so many flaws, but you can never know unless you try, right?

Compare Betternet Side by Side With Others

Did you know?

Compare Betternet Side by Side With Others

All VPNs may look similar to you but they're NOT all the same!

Yes! Show me the Comparison Chart

Irritating Ads

I know that free services are most likely to use ads because that’s one of the not so many ways to make money. However, they’re still very unpleasant and in order to get rid of the ads, you have to pay for the premium plan.

Now, the fact that there are so many cheap VPNs out there that do not use ads, makes me think if it’s actually worth it, even though it’s free.

Slow… Very Slow

Speed is usually the first thing that I like to test, it was no exception with Betternet review. My download speed was about 70Mbps before connecting to the VPN, and when I connected to Betternet it slowed down to:

Betternet review: Betternet speed test.4 Mbps? Really? How is that even possible? It turns out that it is. (If you test when connected to different servers, you might get slightly different results.

But is it actually that slow?

Let me compare it with some other VPNs.

Here’s the speed after connecting to CyberGhost VPN:

Betternet review:CyberGhost speed test.


And here’s after connecting to VPN Unlimited:

VPN Unlimited review: VPN Unlimited speed leak test.


But those are not the best results. Some VPNs can reach up to 80 Mbps, which sounds enormous comparing to 3 Mbps.

Netflix? No…

Since in 2016 Netflix started fighting against VPNs and forbidden to use them when connecting, many VPNs failed to keep up. Only about 70% of them managed to overcome this restriction. However, as far as tested until today, all Betternet’s servers and IPs were blocked. Plus, I found similar information in all Betternet reviews.

Not Fast Enough for Torrenting

Even though Betternet allows torrenting, it is simply not fast enough. I already tested its speed previously in this review and as you’ve seen results weren’t the best.

BETTERNET

Netflix

Torrenting Support

Tor

Operating Systems

Windows, Mac, iOS, Android
See TOP10 Brands
Read review

Table: Betternet compatibility.

Just imagine if you decide to download HD movie that takes about 5GB, then how long would you have to wait? I’d say it’s just too long. Of course, I’m not saying that you cannot use it for torrenting, but I don’t recommend it.

Bad Reviews

If you were looking for Betternet reviews, you may have noticed not that positive evaluations. Of course, even the best VPN providers can sometimes get bad evaluations.

However, the case is different when the majority of them are bad. That’s exactly how it is with Betternet. When I was looking into different Betternet reviews (just because I wanted to see what’s the general tone), I noticed that many reviewers gave only 1 or 2 stars. Therefore, I'm not the only one who noticed that there's something wrong with this provider.  

Warning! IP and DNS Leaks Detected (According to Third Party Reviews)

Even though at the very beginning of this Betternet review, I was sure that it’s secure and won’t leak your IP address, it came out to be the other way around. Of course, I’m not happy with the results but we’re all in this Betternet review for one reason, to find out the answer to the question - “is Betternet a good VPN?”.

First of all, let me introduce you to the main terms used in this part of Betternet review:

  • IPv4 - fourth version of the internet protocol. It identifies devices on a network through an addressing system.
  • IPv6 - sixth version of the Internet protocol, it provides identification and location system on networks and routes traffic over the Internet.
  • DNS - shortly, it is the naming system for computers or other systems that are connected to the Internet or a private network.

So, I tested all of them and now let me give you test results:

Betternet review: Betternet IP leak test.

Betternet review: Betternet DNS leak test.

As you can see, no leaks were detected while I was doing the tests. I was surprised because every other third party review claimed that they found leaks and even provided proofs. Thus, even if the results sometimes came out to be negative, you can never know. I would simply recommend you to stay away from this VPN provider if you want to dodge a bullet.

Since this VPN lacks not only security but also other important features, why don’t you choose the VPN provider, which has it all? Take a look into ExpressVPN and CyberGhost. They’re not only fast and secure but also allow torrenting and Netflix.

Betternet Pricing and Additional Details

It’s time to discuss the last point of the Betternet VPN review - the pricing. If you want to choose the premium plan, it will cost $11.99 per month and from $35.99 to $71.99 yearly depending on the purchasing method: from their website (the cheapest option), from the iOS app or Android app.

The yearly plan offers the lowest pricing, it’s only $2.99 per month if you choose to purchase from the Betternet webpage. However, even with the premium plan, you get only 11 servers in 10 countries to choose from.

Thus, it’s not expensive, but considering all the pros and cons, there are better alternatives to pick from. 

What is the Betternet VPN price?

The pricing of the Betternet VPN varies, take a look at all the information below. 

Subscription directly from their website:

Subscription from their iOS app:

  • 1 Month at $11.99 
  • 6 Months for $47.99
  • 12 Months for $71.99

Subscription directly from their Android app:

  • 1 Month at $11.99 
  • 6 Months for $47.94
  • 12 Months for $71.88

If it’s hard for you to decide which VPN to choose, you can always choose a 7-day free trial. Not every PVN offers that option, but it’s really great when you’re not sure if the service is right for you.

Here is The Best NordVPN Offer I Found:

Do I Recommend?

No.

Betternet didn’t fulfill my expectations, as you already could have guessed from this Betternet VPN review. Even though Betternet has a very simple app, claims to keep no logs and has capable security, it doesn't live up to my expectations.

This Betternet VPN review showed that it has no IP or DNS leaks, however, many users claim to have different results. Furthermore, Betternet doesn’t work with Netflix and is too slow for torrenting. What is more, the Information provided on their page is questionable and its speed is one of the slowest I’ve ever seen (4 Mbps).

The only thing that comforts me is that while using free Betternet you’re safer than using nothing at all. But, even its paid version, which is quite expensive ($11.99) is not that good. If I were you, I would read our other reviews and find a capable VPN service provider for a smart price.

Dan Fusco

Cyber Security Speaker, Owner of InnerPC

Contributed by: Dan Fusco , Cyber Security Speaker, Owner of InnerPC

Dan Fusco is the owner of InnerPC Computer Solutions. He founded InnerPC in 2011 and has migrated many businesses to...

Read Full Bio...

Leave your honest Betternet review

By leaving your honest opinion you can help thousands of readers to choose the best VPN. We accept genuine & helpful user reviews, either positive or negative. Have in mind that biased reviews will not be published. If you want to share your opinion, experience or advice, we want you to spill the beans!


TOP3 Most Popular Coupon Codes

Verified

GET 68% OFF

NordVPN Black Friday Sale
Rating
5.0
Verified

84% OFF

Surfshark Black Friday Sale
Rating
5.0
Verified

Get 49% OFF

Express VPN Black Friday Offer
Rating
5.0

Recent Betternet User Reviews

3.2/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

ok

free version is ok the us servers let me unblock youtube videos but not much more, lacks speed most of the time.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
2.5/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

No Netflix :'(

It installs fast n seems ok at first glance. Yesterday I tried to watch my shows on Netflix and the thing won't let me. Changed servers and still a no.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.4/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Not so safe

Even though it gets slow I see all the options work fine, say torrenting, hiding actual IP. Although it works fine they collect some personal data like other websites.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
5.0/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Very easy to use

Hey, Betternet is perfect if you are looking for a bit more privacy online, there are ads you will have to see. Easy to install on Chrome.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
2.8/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

¨Free¨

Allows me to browse incognito online, fast & easy to use. Wanted to try the ¨Premium¨ but they ask for personal credit card information.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
5.0/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Best free vpn

I have been using it for four months without a single issue. Very easy to use, I know it keeps me safe online & it also unblocks Facebook, youtube, instagram at work.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
4.9/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Good

I don't navigate unless Better net is on, a great vpn and it does work to hide IP etc. Although it works for p2p it gets very slow. Overall good.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.6/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

it works

2 months user. It works most of the time, even with torrenting. Netflix DOESNT work if you wanna stream look a different VPN.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.3/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Betternet recommended

I simply connect, choose the server I want & enjoy it. For a free version I like it.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.5/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Useful

it works pretty well, gives me access to most geoblocked content I wanna watch, mostly Youtube and Facebook. No hassles, very simple.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
4.0/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

ADS ADS ADS

BETTERNET WORKS FINE, REGULAR SPEED FOR A VPN FOR FREE I CAN'T ASK FOR MORE. GO FOR IT IF YOU DONT MIND THE ADS.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
4.6/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Looove it

Love this free VPN! The configuration is very easy, just close the X botton of the 7 days trial to use it for free. I recommend it for anyone for an extra layer of security.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
5.0/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Very good!

No problems whatsoever, VPN works well on Android, the speed is ok, doesn't seem lower than normal. It's annoying the ads but so far, working great!

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.5/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

dont update X

it was working perfectly! like fast speed n hiding my up, then this update comes up and now just very very slow or disconnects, a waste of time.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
2.9/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

delete

basically dowloaded this to get a good vpn, but even for free it's way too slow when im torrenting, sometimes dowload speed is good, sometimes it isnt.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.3/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Simple & Free

This is a basic VPN, expect some protection. I use it to torrent and the speed is average. Won't stream Amazon or Hulu... hope it gets better and still free..

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.8/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

1st try

sounds like my kind of vpn, just need something to torrent & extra protection, i installed on windows but can't get it to work... gonna contact their team, wish me luck!

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
5.0/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Recommend

Love this app! I use it to hide my IP to browse certain websites in the US. It's free & easy to easy. Totally recommend!

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.0/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Concerned...

I've got Betternet and expected better, later read its security is not good, can't watch netflix or nothing with it.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
2.9/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

slow

Betternet's performance since I first downloaded it been good. I recommend it if you don't need to stream much because it's too slow.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
5.0/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Not bad like everyone is making them out to be

I don't know if they have upgraded their services since most of these terrible reviews have been done, but, I've been using this service for the better part of a year now with few complaints to make. It may still not be the fastest, I haven't done a speed test recently but it's fast enough to do most of what I need. Customer service is pretty good. They always respond very promptly and politely and always fix my issue. I really don't have many complaints, and they are not as bad as the majority of these reviews are saying.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.4/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Nothing wrong except for random disconnects.

I have been using the secret ACTUAL free version of this program for several years, and have had no problems with torrenting, except for random disconnects, so I have to sit and watch it whenever I can. Otherwise, one downside is my torrent client not active.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.5/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Doesn't work.

It is a friendly interface, and has a nice look, but it doesn't hide your IP at all. It was suggested to just pay for one, it's easier, and I agree.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.0/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

pretty good service

I’ve been using the free version of betternet for over a year and the performance I’ve gotten with the two free locations USA and UK they have both been good enough for my needs in terms of speed but in case you want a VPN for downloading/streaming etc, I can’t recommend betternet as it would be too slow. For a free decent VPN that you only need for minimal tasks I do recommend betternet. Hopefully this review helps someone!

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
2.6/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Many issues :(

For me, I just wanted to keep myself secure and fully hidden online, so I decided to “try” Betternet. I used it for 7 days and all I can say is that their product sucks (seriously). Here’s why: It crashes at least once a day After 7 days they want you to pay money Constant ads and the whole experience is slow. Not to mention using them for Netflix (which is impossible).

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.5/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Works in India, but slow

As our Government banned social media sites like Facebook and Twitter here in India, we’ve no option to use Betternet. It’s free and does the trick, but the downside is that it’s VERY slow..

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.0/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Usable, but too slow for Netflix.

I recently installed the free version of Betternet (about 1 month ago). Although it’s usable most of the time it’s pretty slow. Streaming services like Netflix are therefore not something I recommend doing. However, I mostly use Betternet for regular browser which seems to be working most of the time. So if you’re looking for a VPN to stream with I recommend going for something else.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
5.0/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Absolutely amazing!!!!

I have been using this app for as long as i can remember and i could not love this software more. It's free , boosts your internet speed and most importantly very reliable in any circumstances, if you got the internet working on your laptop DUUUH!!! so I would definitely recommend BETTERNET for whoever that is looking to find a reliable vpn host. Cheers and hope y'all found this helpful. For download go straight to their main website.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
2.6/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Betternet Sham

“It’s free for one week” If you give them your credit card details – Then they can charge your credit card! You’ll have to pay $11 per month! Scam!

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
2.8/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Deficient support

I bought a year subscription to VPN service but I couldn't make it work on a mikrotik router. I give up requesting support as they take 3 or 4 days to answer but no helping to solve my problem.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
2.8/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Fine at the beginning now bit pricey and not fastest speed

It was decent with free version. But it is a bit expensive now for Premium plan compared to other VPN services I use, and I wasn't having fastest service/access to be honest. One thing I noticed was disconnecting from some servers at times.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.0/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

disappointing

Well, my experience with Betternet consists of mobile and Chrome extension use. As I used Betternet, the performance of the VPN deteriorated. Slow to connect to the VPN itself, and then a slow connection speed. Then, of course, you get the prompt for their Premium service.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
2.6/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Very limited free version

They want to charge you after 7 days. So not really free.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
2.6/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Sucks

Free is limited, Premium is too pricey 1. Connecting to some states just for a while. 2. Disconnects on it’ Own 3. Your internet provider will shut your internet off

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
3.1/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Betternet is fine

I’ve been using Betternet VPN for a few months now. Obviously the best thing about it is that it’s completely free unless you decide to support the developers. Free version only offers two regions (UK and US). It doesn’t ask for any private information. However, the connection can be slow sometimes and randomly cut off.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
2.5/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

NO TOR

I can't even use their site/service when running another VPN! So if you're hoping to use TOR, better look somewhere else. The whole point of using VPN is to unblock and unrestrict website access. What's the point of blocking competitor's access to your own website?

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
2.6/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Ridiculous

I installed Betternet free version just few days ago. I was enthusiastic as I thought I can use it forever. However, I quickly realized their too slow and they don’t allow any sort of Torrenting, let alone Netflix. What’s even worse, today I got an notification that my FREE version is over. What?

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
2.6/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Poor customer services

Having used the VPN service now for approx 7 months, I encountered a problem with the wifi connection. Within an hour I received a response but this wasn't to hopefully resolve my problem. I am still waiting to hear from them some 30 hours later. I have about two months remaining on my current subscription but unable to use the service. I have sent many messages to them with no response.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
2.8/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

I'm happy

Your app isn’t the easiest one for a guy who is new, but your efficient support was really good and got things sorted for me. Overall I am happy to date.

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed
2.8/5.0 - Betternet User
2023-01-01

Free, but not the ideal VPN

Betternet will only be suitable for the lightest users and just want to secure their browser. It's not the ideal for me, no Netflix, speed is too slow to play game... However, you get what you pay for :<

Evaluation
Price
Ease of Use
Support
Features
Speed

FAQ

Is Betternet safe?

No. Even though it's secured using 256-bit AES encryption and OpenVPN protocol, their not the best option for those who are looking for the most secure alternative. Many results indicate that there might be some DNS and WebRTC leaks. If you want to find the safest provider in the market, you should choose between CyberGhost andExpressVPN.

Can I use Betternet for free?

Yes. However, if you want to be protected free VPN service providers are not recommended. How do you think they earn money? If you choose a free Betternet version, you get a limited number of servers, and you cannot choose which of them to connect to - Betternet makes this decision for you. If you want to spare your savings, you should instead check out the providers that offer great services for low prices.

Can I use VPN for torrenting?

Yes, it can. The most popular content platform for top VPNs to unblock is Netflix. Even though it’s available almost everywhere, USA users have a much bigger content variety. That’s why a lot of people use VPNs to view that kind of content via USA-located servers. If the content you want to view is geo-blocked, you can look up which servers (in which regions) the top VPN providers possess and which ones are right for you. You can easily find this information for each best VPN service in our VPN reviews.

What sets Top50vpn apart from other top VPN review sites?

We strive to be as reliable as possible & we are not competing with anyone. Top50vpn goal is to provide readers with the most insightful & helpful information. That’s why our VPN review process is more thorough than anyone else’s - we use a lot of different testing methods as well as the brainpower of true professionals. We do not take payments for writing reviews or changing them. Also, all the user reviews you see on the site are genuine, which may not be the case with other review sites. To put it simply, we take more time to test & review top rated VPNs - that’s why you get unique insights from us on a daily basis.

Can VPNs be used to unblock content?

Yes, you definitely can (and you should!). Best VPNs usually offer safe P2P file sharing option, which means that while torrenting, you are connected to Peer-to-Peer file sharing in order to download really fast. If the VPN doesn’t shy away from using torrents, it will secure your connection from other people using the same connection. If you want to find out which top VPNs allow torrenting, check our thorough VPN reviews.

How do you decide which provider offers the best VPN?

Deciding which provider has the top VPN is not an easy task, but it sure is fun! We have a dedicated team of professionals who test each VPN from start to finish, measuring all of the most important features. We buy all the VPNs ourselves, use machine learning & data science algorithms, get opinions from hundreds of real users, MIT professors, internet security experts and more. The top VPN services are decided by measuring all these important metrics, and never by the request of the providers.